Author Topic: Mt Hikurangi - Bagged It 25/01/09  (Read 2111 times)

Mt Hikurangi - Bagged It 25/01/09
« on: January 27, 2009, 01:49:25 PM »
Bagged with henrys and bacchus. Yay. Very cool climb, one of the hardest and scariest ive done so far. Great boys weekend away

There isnt really any decent accounts of this climb of a complete and useful nature anywhere on the internet with photos (that I can find anyway). Some of the info I found was innaccurate so i promise I will post a detailed report very soon. Anyway in the meantime I can put a tick in this box.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2009, 03:49:00 PM by vinodrinker »

Re: Mt Hikurangi - Bagged It 25/01/09
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2009, 08:53:18 AM »
Here is my attempt to put something comprehensive on the internet regarding this hike. Hopefully it is useful to someone out there as info on this climb is pretty light and fragmented i have found. Apologies if I don't use quite the correct terminology - I am no professional

For most people a summit of Mt Hikurangi is well past a spare of the moment decision.  It is in a remote part of the country, it is a full day undertaking at the least and it is reasonably hard work. It usually involves a couple of nights accommodation each side of the hike and travel which makes it a holiday climb for most.  Once more it is a summer event, you need a good long dose of daylight to knock this off in a day. Ensure you register your intent with Ngati Pourou upon setting a date and listen to their radio station on the way up, it has some good tunes to get you in the east coast mode (if that exists at 3:00am).